Dramaquill's All Things Writing

August 16, 2013

Writing Advice: Questions From My Readers Part Three

Question:  With all the time it takes to write a book, then submit it and survive all the rejections, why makes you not want to give up?

I would imagine that this is definitely something that rings close to home with every writer in some way.  Even the most famous writers have plenty of rejection stories.

So, I’m just going to answer this question according to how I feel about the writing biz and its process.

This may sound corny or perhaps even trite to some of you but I’ll risk it because what I’m about to say is 100% the truth.

I was born to write!   Plain and simple.

Yes, it’s a lot of work to write a book.  I think I had about six drafts before I felt that my manuscript was ready to submit to publishers.

Do your homework.  Find out which publishers are the absolute best fit for what you write.  Go to conferences (or if you can’t afford the travel, participate in online conferences) where you can meet editors or at least listen to them speak about what they look for when choosing new works.

Make sure you’re pitching your absolute best work!!!!!  This bears repeating.
Make sure you’re pitching your absolute best work!

Learn to craft an enticing query letter and a killer synopsis.  These are the tools that will get an editor to ask to see your manuscript.

Learn from the rejections.  Did you get any feedback?

What is your ultimate goal with your writing?

If you are writing with the goal of getting published, research the traditional markets carefully and follow submission instructions to the letter.  If you decide to self-publish, you’ll have to be even more steadfast about putting your best foot forward.  Get a professional critique.  Join a critique group.  Pay someone to design your cover.  Don’t let your book look amateur.

The writing biz is hard.  The process can be very slow.  You will get rejections – probably more than acceptances.

I can’t imagine letting any of this stop me from pursuing my writing career.

 

5 Comments »

  1. “Born to write.” LOVE IT. Agreed over here.
    And now I’m on a born to publish mission.

    Comment by sandycarl — August 16, 2013 @ 4:51 PM | Reply

  2. You go, girl!!!
    May sound weird but if I don’t write, the stories and voices in my head start getting louder until I purge them all onto paper.
    Been thinking up stuff like this ever since I was a little kid.

    Comment by dramaquill — August 17, 2013 @ 6:30 PM | Reply

  3. I was born to write. True, indeed.

    Comment by J. Dominique — September 12, 2013 @ 9:31 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

