Dramaquill's All Things Writing

August 9, 2013

Writing Advice: Questions from my Readers Part Two

 Question:  Should I self-publish?

I definitely wasn’t surprised that this question was asked a few times and yet, I am hesitant to even try to answer it because I think that it’s a really personal choice that every writer must make for himself.

If I were writing non-fiction, I think I would absolutely self-publish some smaller e-books.  It’s a great way to get your name known as an expert in a particular field.  Also, by offering free reports with an e-book purchase, writers can certainly build up a loyal following.  Plus, these NF e-books don’t have to be long.  They just have to be filled with useful information.

As for fiction, I’m still on the fence about self-publishing.  I know that even with a traditional publishing house contract, authors still shoulder the responsibility of publicizing and marketing their books themselves (unless they’re in the leagues of Stephen King or J.K.Rowling).  This isn’t any different from those who self-publish.  But I also believe that belonging to a publishing house still holds more credibility than doing it yourself.

Now, many of you may disagree with me, and that’s okay.

There are different levels of self-publishing so if you’re going to go that route, learn everything you can before you jump in.  Know what a vanity publisher is.  Don’t use one…ever!  Talk to other authors who’ve self-published.  Find out what they did that worked (or what didn’t work).

Ultimately, in the end, you and you alone must decide which direction your book should take.

 

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Jacqueline

    I have very formed a company to self-publish a children’s chapter book series (ages 6 – 8). It’s hard work! But fun.
    Quality is important and takes a long time to achieve – you know that of course – in that respect no difference from being with a publishing house. Except you must find your own editor, proof reader etc. We are selling 2 ebooks a day, having launched 20 days ago. We’ve made tons of mistakes (I now realise) but it’s still rewarding!

    Given your interest in chapter books/children’s lit and teaching expertise, would love your opinion on it if you are interested – drop me a line if so.

    Sonya

    Comment by Sonya McGilchrist — November 22, 2013 @ 7:29 AM | Reply

    • Hi Sonya: Thank you for your email. How exciting a venture for you! So tell me more about your company. Do you have a website? What’s the name of it? Are the books ebooks or print. Do you use POD? Would love to hear more about it. You can email me at jacqueline@tbaytel.net, rather than using this WP form if you like.
      Looking forward to hearing more about your books.
      Jacqueline

      Comment by dramaquill — November 22, 2013 @ 11:00 AM | Reply

  2. Hi there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet
    browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a fair price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

    Comment by Calvin Klein barcelona — March 26, 2014 @ 12:40 AM | Reply

    • Hi and thanks for checking out my blog. I’m just using the free wordpress site for blogging.
      But I think that my site loads quickly because it’s not all cluttered up with pictures and media.
      As much as those things can make the interactive experience more exciting, they also take longer
      to load. I’ve heard the Wix (I think that’s the name) hosts free websites and is pretty good.
      You could check them out.

      Comment by dramaquill — April 1, 2014 @ 11:13 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

