Dramaquill's All Things Writing

June 21, 2013

Who is Jacqueline McMahon Anyway?

I believe that who I am as a person has a lot to do with shaping how and what I write – from what I read as a child to games I played to people I admire…and the list goes on and on.

So this post gives you all just a little insight into Jacqueline McMahon.

Full name:
Jacqueline Margaret McMahon

Occupation:
Co-owner of Slightly off Broadway Performing Arts Studio
Playwright/novelist

Favourite Book Genre:
Suspense

Favourite Day of the Week:
Sunday

Pets:
Molly, my eight pound Yorkie

Best Writing Weather:
Stormy (prefer rain and thunderstorms to blizzards but both really
drive me to create)

Ideal Writing Environment:
Big desk under a window overlooking a beautiful piece of nature.  Room for my iPad, my desktop, several notebooks, a mug filled with pens/pencils/highlighters and a place for my coffee mug.

Music while Writing:
This is tough because if I play songs that I know, I end up singing the words in my head instead of writing.  Exception – Vivaldi.  Love writing exciting scenes to his Four Seasons or the Gloria in D.

Pet peeves:
People who can’t spell, in particular, definately…aaaaah…it’s definitely, people!
Never enough time to devote to writing (but I do work great under deadline pressures)
People who don’t get that writing requires solitude (stop dropping in, stop phoning me, stop talking)

Dream Job:
No such thing – I make whatever I do something I enjoy.  (Luckily, I run a business where I get to mentor students in the performing arts and write original plays)

Favourite Food(s):
Homemade spaghetti & meatballs and Christmas dinner (turkey/stuffing/gravy)

Favourite Movie Snack:
Old Dutch Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips (no, not everyone loves popcorn)

Closest Relative:
My Nana (she was my biggest supporter)

BFF:
My business partner and adopted sister, Connie.

Dream Vacation:
NYC (in the winter, near Christmas)

Best Writing Advice I’ve been Given:
Join a critique group (am proud to belong to the Blue Quills (8 years and counting)

Best Writing Advice I’ve Given to Someone:
Read/Write/Edit/Submit/Repeat

My take on ebooks:
They’re great for travel (can take an entire library on one device) and extremely convenient to purchase with all the online vendors.

Ebooks or Print books:
I’m still going to be old school here and say print books.  Nothing’s more comforting than holding a book in my hands and smelling the pages, feeling the texture, and snuggling down in my bed to read.

Facebook:
Great way to authors to interact with folks but not sure how much it helps gain book sales.

Twitter:
Short and Sweet – short term

Blogging:
I love reading blogs and writing blog posts.  If only there was more time…sigh.

Present writing goals:
Finish sequel novel/write a hill-billy themed play

Present general goals:
Be more positive/help others/laugh more

Why read my book?
I promise to take you on an emotional roller coaster ride that will keep you turning the page.

Can you read my sequel if you haven’t read the first book?
Absolutely.  But what fun would that be?

Buy a copy of “When Love Won’t Die” on Amazon (or at a variety of other online retailers)
http://www.amazon.ca/When-Love-Wont-Die-ebook/dp/B004AYD6YE

http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/When-Love-Wont-Die/book-p2VHGKHWAE6biZdRsFV_tA/page1.html

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/when-love-wont-die-jacqueline-mcmahon/1026475808

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

