Dramaquill's All Things Writing

June 10, 2013

Thanks for the Inspiration, Tony Awards

Last night I watched the 2013 Tony Awards and was more inspired than ever before by the talent displayed in the three hour broadcast. I’ve always been a sucker for the musicals and live theatre. It doesn’t surprise me that celebrity performers feel something completely different after their first role in a live production.

As I watched all the fabulous musical numbers, appreciating everything that goes into making them so spectacular, I immediately began thinking about all the drama classes I will be offering at my studio in the fall and the infinite number of possibilities for scripts.

As any book author will tell you, read a lot of books if you want to write books. Well I think the same applies to playwrights. Watch live theatre and you’ll be inspired to create live theatre.

So today I’ve drafted out a plan for characters and plot for a full length play script and I’ve explored some ideas for a couple of one acts as well.

Writers have to spend time alone to get the words down on paper but nothing stimulates creativity more than being around the creativity of others.

Thanks for the inspiration, Tony Awards.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

