Dramaquill's All Things Writing

August 19, 2012

It’s all part of the creative process

This summer has been strange to say the least.  Warm sunny days where the sun’s up around six a.m. and doesn’t go to bed until after 10:00 p.m. makes for the perfect writing environment for me.  I can grab my iPad or a notebook and head to one of the nearby parks or lakes, sit sipping a mochaccino on an outdoor coffee shop patio or hunker down under a shade tree in my backyard.

At least that’s the way my writing life has gone until this summer.

I can’t say that it hasn’t been bugging me that I can’t seem to find my stride with my current WIP, my second adult suspense novel.  I’ve started re-reading the 31 chapters I’d previously written, hoping to find myself jumping back into the rhythm of it all.  But that just hasn’t been the case.

Am I worried that I’ll never finish my second book?

No, not at all.  But I sure don’t like waiting for this dry spell to end.

Oddly enough, my creativity did get a jump start in another area of writing.  Next week, my studio is offering a drama camp for kids 8-14 years old.  I started flipping through all our scripts and through my computer files and suddenly camp up with an idea – a campy spy play.  I got to work.

My fingers flew over the keys as the ideas formed.  It’s a quirky, silly, fast-paced romp through a day in the life of a secret agency of spies, made up of a bunch of ordinary kids.  Only thing is, nobody is allowed to know who anybody else is so they all wear white masks and go by a number rather than their name.

It felt good to exercise my creative chops again, even if it wasn’t on my WIP.

Maybe a week of creativity with this drama camp will be just what my muse needs to make an appearance.  Let’s hope so.

Don’t get discouraged when the words don’t come.  It’s all part of the creative process.

2 Comments »

  1. Ha! I already wrote a post similar to this one, which will go up on my blog tomorrow. Guess our back-and-forth discussions this summer springs up similar thoughts. My own creativitiy has not been with my WIP lately, either. I don’t have a spy camp going on. I’ve been making more Nursery Rhyme videos! I have them on my youtube channel, but really ought to learn to edit and put in title pages, etc. Ah. even more distractons to my WIP. Ha! Here’s hoping our creative breaks will drive us like mad women to our WIPs!

    Comment by sandycarl — August 19, 2012 @ 6:37 PM | Reply

  2. I’m wondering if being immersed in this week long drama camp creativity will be just what I need. I hope so!

    Comment by dramaquill — August 20, 2012 @ 8:23 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

