Dramaquill's All Things Writing

December 20, 2010

Book Reviews help authors promote

It’s been exciting getting feedback on my novel, “When Love Won’t Die”, from those who’ve purchased it and read it.  Today, I got a google alert and to my surprise, The Pen and Muse Book Reviews posted an amazing review of my book on their site.

Here’s the link:  http://networkedblogs.com/bMYZu

Here’s an excerpt of what reviewer, Tammy Elizabeth Southin, had to say about my writing:

“McMahon’s writing successfully captures the trauma women in abusive relationships must deal with and the emotional scars that are carried for life. For readers who wonder how the Eleanors of the world cope, McMahon provides a strong narrative that avoids hysterics and focuses on the individual with compassion and understanding. To the women who have been there, no explanation is necessary; for the women who have not, no explanation can be given.”

It’s reviews like this that help an author sell more copies of their book.  My publisher submitted my book to several review sites but it’s also up to the author, yes that means me, to also seek out reviewers and get as many reviews as possible if I want to really sell a lot of copies of my book. 

Don’t know where to start?

Check out these sites:

http://www.ebookcrossroads.com/book-reviewers.html

http://www.midwestbookreview.com/links/othr_rev.htm

http://www.topbookreviewers.com/authors/author_info

Remember that as an author, your job doesn’t end when you finish the book.  Now it’s time for promotion and marketing.

Soon I’ll be posting a “how to” for hosting a book signing, another great promotional tool for authors.

What are you doing to get the word out about your book?

1 Comment »

  1. […] Book Reviews help authors promote (via Dramaquill’s Weblog) Filed under: Writing — dramaquill @ 9:47 pm It's been exciting getting feedback on my novel, "When Love Won't Die", from those who've purchased it and read it.  Today, I got a google alert and to my surprise, The Pen and Muse Book Reviews posted an amazing review of my book on their site. Here's the link:  http://networkedblogs.com/bMYZu Here's an excerpt of what reviewer, Tammy Elizabeth Southin, had to say about my writing: "McMahon’s writing successfully captures the trauma women in abu … Read More […]

    Pingback by Book Reviews help authors promote (via Dramaquill’s Weblog) « Dramaquill’s Weblog — December 20, 2010 @ 9:47 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

