Dramaquill's All Things Writing

October 25, 2010

When Love Won’t Die Reviews

Arts Blogs - Blog Top Sites


Bookmark and Share

The ebook version of my suspense novel, “When Love Won’t Die”, has been out for about three weeks now and the reviews are starting to come in.  I’m thrilled to say that so far, it’s been two thumbs up from everyone who’s read the book. 

Here are a few quotes:

Sandy Carlson (novel writer and columnist from Michigan)
McMahon makes her characters seem so real and alive, I seriously recommend that this gripping story not be read after dark.

Cyndy Fairbrother (avid novel reader from Saskachewan)
I’ve probably read over five hundred books, and I only remember the good stories. I’ll remember When Love Won’t Die!

Erin-Brie Warwick (Warwick Life Strategies – Winnipeg)
The book is fantastic!! I’m about 1/3 of the way through…probably won’t sleep well tonight though haha.

Alison Gigliotti (avid reader of ebooks – Thunder Bay)
BTW wicked good score on the cover. I have bought many many ebooks and I gotta say, some of the covers are horrendous.

As an author, it’s definitely encouraging to read comments like these and know that what you have written has been well received by those who have purchased the ebook. 

But what if you haven’t published a book?  How can you get feedback?  Do you trust the opinions of your family and friends?

Do like I did:

  • Join a writing group in the city where you live
  • Join a critique group (either online or in person) where you can get constructive
    feedback
  • Attend writing conferences
  • Read books in the same genre as what you are writing
  • Learn everything you can about the publishing business
  • Research publishers that you feel have the right fit for your book by studying their submission guidelines and reading books they’ve published
  • Make sure the manuscript you are submitting is nothing short of your very best writing

Now…on to plan the booksigning.  I’ll post info. on the event when I’ve nailed down all the details.

And don’t forget – getting the book out is just the first step.  Now it’s up to you to seek out marketing opportunities and sell those copies.

2 Comments »

  1. I loved this novel – full of surprises. I can’t wait for the next one.

    Comment by Margaret — October 25, 2010 @ 7:15 PM | Reply

  2. Thanks for the positive feedback, Mags. I’m working on the next one…believe me.

    Comment by dramaquill — October 27, 2010 @ 11:15 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

