Dramaquill's All Things Writing

April 7, 2010

Revising…rewriting…rethinking

 Arts Blogs - Blog Top Sites


Bookmark and Share

As I mentioned in an earlier post, my first adult suspense novel has been picked up by a publisher.  Exciting news to say the least.

It took about a month to get back my content edits after I submitted my polished, formatted final draft of the book.

I was happy to see that the line by line edits were far and few between.  Most of them involved changing a few words to a single word (tightening the prose) or clarifying a detail for consistency throughout the manuscript.  Revising these areas was neither time consuming or challenging.

I’m now working on the content edits, of which there are basically three:

1.      Heroine needs to take action much sooner in the manuscript.

2.     Hero (her husband) needs to be less passive throughout.

3.     The publisher recommends a different ending to tie everything together.

I completely agree that my heroine takes a long time to address the emergence of a past secret and have found a way to introduce this information in an earlier chapter.  By doing this, I can also find ways for her husband to become more actively involved in the plot, thus solving two content issues in one.  Rewriting these passages hasn’t proven to be too difficult a task and I’m excited at how much stronger they are making the overall manuscript.

Now we come to the issue of the ending.  Although I can see the book with the content editor’s suggested ending, I still feel very strongly about keeping my original ending.  And it’s this one aspect of revising that has me rethinking my entire manuscript.

With the deadline to have revisions completed fast approaching, I struggle to make my decision about the end.  But thanks to my critique group, some writing friends, and a pro/con list that I’m compiling for each ending, I am confident that I will reach a decision in the next couple of days.

Getting published is hard work.  No matter how polished and perfect you make your manuscript, the publisher has suggestions and recommendations that they feel will make your book sell more copies and it takes a lot of work to revise, rewrite and rethink your manuscript to meet with their approval.

But when you hold that first copy of your book in your hands, or see it lining the shelves of bookshelves and online bookstores, you’ll be glad you did your revising…rewriting…rethinking.

5 Comments »

  1. WHAT A STRUGGLE to rethink your novel. But it was a different sort of struggle to get to this point, too.I know you’ll make the right choice, and CAN’T WAIT to cradle that baby in my arms.

    Comment by sandy carlson — April 7, 2010 @ 12:40 PM | Reply

    • Hey friend – fancy meeting you at wordpress LOL
      You’re sweet.
      Yep, still don’t have that final ending decision that puts me at peace and that’s
      how I guide all my decisions…if I’m at peace with it, then it’s the right decision.
      I just can’t seem to find a peaceful way to kill off Mel LOL

      Comment by dramaquill — April 11, 2010 @ 9:18 PM | Reply

  2. Congratulations…..Good to hear of somebody getting published. it is a hard business, to get into. Any tips, for a Christian writer?

    Thanks, and God bless you,

    Elena

    http://elenasjustmythoughts.wordpress.com

    Comment by elenaramirez — April 7, 2010 @ 9:01 PM | Reply

    • Hi Elena – great to meet you and being a Christian myself, how excellent that
      you are a Christian writer.
      First tip – never ever give up trying – sub out your writing to contests, publishers and agents.
      Make sure it’s your very best work and when the time is right, it WILL be snatched up.
      Check out the museonline conference – it’s free and I’m pretty sure there’s a section for
      Christian writers. It’s online every Oct. and I pitched a publisher through this conference
      and they asked to read my full mss and voila…a contract. It was a great way to get my foot
      closer in the door of the publishing world. I’m still researching agents and hoping that will be
      my next move. And yes, it’s a very very hard biz to crack. Just keep writing, subbing and
      doing everything you can and you’ll get there.

      Comment by dramaquill — April 11, 2010 @ 9:16 PM | Reply

  3. Thank you for your response and kindness, to share. Please if you can, and you get any other thoughts, please share them with me. I am really glad to network with other Christians, and people who understand the business. So your thoughts, comments, etc. would be greatly appreciated. I pray God bless you, just for sharing….Much love, in Christ, Elena

    Comment by elenaramirez — April 12, 2010 @ 2:10 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

