Dramaquill's All Things Writing

April 6, 2009

What I learned from writing my first Suspense Novel

Arts Blogs - Blog Top Sites

It’s taken a while to get what I believe is a solid, polished suspense novel.  I’ve revised, rewritten and reviewed.  I’ve read and re-read.  I’ve had a professional critique done by a published author in my genre.  And I’ve sent my final revision through my long time, online critique group. 

I’ve even decided to try publishers first, instead of agents.  Why?  Well, that’s another post.

So what did I learn?

As I continue writing my second suspense novel, I cannot believe how much more critically I’m analyzing my writing.  My characters are stronger and I’m really enjoying finding new ways to make my readers want to turn the pages.  I’m seeing the big picture from the book and not just one chapter at a time. 

I don’t believe that my revision process on this second book will need to be as extensive as it was on my first book.  I’ve learned so much.  In fact, although I enjoyed writing the first book, I have to admit, it was a lot of work.  Now, I’m not saying the second book won’t be work, but my first draft of this book is already far ahead of my first book.  I’ve already eliminated much of the revising I had to do on the first book just by knowing more as I write this second manuscript.

What is the most important thing I’ve learned from this experience so far?

Never give up!

I’ve found my niche.  I love suspense.  I want to make my readers jump.  I want to hit my characters with obstacles and situations that cause them to really have to think.  And I have to admit, I love writing the villains. 

No writing you ever do, whether it’s published or not, is ever a waste.  Just keep writing and honing your craft and enjoying the journey along the way.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

