Dramaquill's All Things Writing

November 11, 2008

Serious Nano doubts?

 Arts Blogs - Blog Top Sites

So, it’s November 11th and I finally did some character sketches and plot lines to kind of map out where I’d like to go with my new suspense novel.

But it’s November 11th and I haven’t written one word yet…yikes!  Now, I’m not making excuses but I’m moving my business to a new location and unfortunately that’s taking priority over my time at the moment.  So, instead of keeping my butt glued to my chair and my eyes riveted to my computer screen, I’ve been painting, packing, moving things, cleaning etc. etc.

I’m sure there are a lot of you out there who signed up for the big event and for whatever reasons just haven’t been able to actually get cracking on that book.  Life definitely can get in the way, can’t it!

So, am I giving up for this year?

Not on your life.

But it’s going to take some real dedication now to get myself anywhere near the 50,000 words.  Last year I only made about 36,000 so I’ve decided that first of all, I need to set a realistic goal.  I may not make the 50,000 and I’m okay with that.  (Well, not really – I’m very competitive).  So, I’m going to shoot for exceeding my 36,0000 words from last year by at least another thousand.  If I write 2100 words/day from now until the end of the month, I can conceivably do this.

So, here’s what I’m going to have to do to achieve my goals:

1.    Omit 1 hr. of wasted time every day (like TV or surfing or emails)

2.    Stay up an extra 30 minutes (I work well later at night)

3.    Bring my writing to work so that I can do it on unexpected breaks

4.    Get ready faster in the morning and snatch 30 minutes before I leave

5.    Focus…focus…focus

You can do it!

If you’re having serious Nano doubts, don’t give up.  Even some writing on your book manuscript will be better than none at all.  So go for it!  Let’s see what we can all accomplish by November 30th.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

