Dramaquill's All Things Writing

November 6, 2008

Screenwriters’ and Playwrights’ Market

 Arts Blogs - Blog Top Sites

Writer’s Digest books has been publishing market guides for as long as I can remember.  There’s the giant volume, “Writer’s Market”, that lists a little bit of everything for all genres.  Then, there are the specific volumes for novelists, children’s writers, poets, songwriters and photographers.

To my delight, Writer’s Digest is introducing a new market book, coming out sometime in December and available through pre-order at Amazon.com and other online stores now.

As a playwright, I’m always looking for avenues for my material.  I have been lucky enough to have sold a few scripts to middle school drama departments in the USA and also to the Little Tomato Children’s Theatre’s summer program.  I’ve managed to find some online links to play publishers and their guidelines.  And I’m excited to be able to have even more information at my fingertips once this new book comes out.

But that’s not all!

Editor, Chuck Sambuchino, approached me in July about including an article of mine in the first edition of this new market book.  So, “The Business of Playwriting”, by Jacqueline McMahon, will be one of the offerings in this first edition.

I have my copy pre-ordered.  Do you?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

