Dramaquill's All Things Writing

November 4, 2008

A Nano 360

 Arts Blogs - Blog Top Sites

So, Nanowrimo started November 1st.  I made sure I was all signed up and had my book ideas gathered together.  I’d even made some preliminary character sketches for a YA chicklit novel.

So we’re on day four of Nanowrimo and guess what?  I can’t get into this book at all.  Nope – not even a little. 

What’s a writer to do?

I never seem to have a lack of ideas so I’m making a complete 360 today and deciding to work on a second suspense novel called Dear Aunt Jane.  It began as an attempt at a short story years ago but I truly believe that to properly tell the tale, it should be a book so that’s what I’m going to do.

I’m already feeling that adrenaline rush of excitement as I search through old files and folders for my background notes.  I’m already plotting for the long haul of a book and chopping up the short story version.  I can feel my protagonist pushing me to get writing her story.

Will I make the 50,000 words by the 30th?  Who knows.  I realize I’m not about 6,000 behind schedule but it doesn’t matter.  My creative juices are over flowing with this switch so “thank-you” Nanowrimo for pushing me down this path.

Am I worried about the YA chicklit book never getting finished?

Nope.

I know, when the time is right, I’ll tackle that one.

I just really feel drawn to the suspense genre right now and maybe that’s because of the months of revisions I’ve been doing or maybe it’s because I just ordered a new Mary Higgins Clark/Carol Higgins Clark book.

Whatever the case, Nano, here I come.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

