Dramaquill's All Things Writing

May 16, 2008

Weather and productivity – what’s your connection?

Talking to writers always fascinates me.  I enjoy hearing about everything from where writers get their ideas to their favorite places to write.  Some writers only conceive new chapters at the computer.  Some prefer the portable word processor, the Alphasmart.  Personally, I really connect using my favorite brand of pens and a large, hard cover journal with lined pages.

But more than the tools that I use, the weather has a profound effect on my productivity and I feel lucky to live in a place with four very distinct seasons. 

If I’m indoors in my little home office, I love writing when it’s cold, windy and rainy outside.  The gloomy weather, coupled with a hot cup of java provides me with the perfect scenerio to get down to some serious writing.  And it’s during those rainstorms that I must abandon my “pen in hand” writing method for the computer because once the words start coming, the only way I can keep up with my brain is to type.

So why don’t I get the same boost from those dark, cold winter nights?  Is it the cup of cocoa that numbs my power to create and instead encourages me to curl up in the front of the TV with a good movie?

Believe it or not, I actually prefer my little windowless home office to a bright cheery room or even the outdoors.  If it’s gloomy outside, the entire house has that cozy feel of darkness approaching when I turn on the soft, energy efficient light. But if it’s a sunny day, a window tempts me to abandon all thoughts of writing and get outside and enjoy the weather.

I must admit that I do, at times, enjoy writing outside amid the beauty of mother nature.  Sitting on a beach on a sunny afternoon, feeling the moisture from the surf as the waves splash onto the sandy shore provide me with a place to destress as well as scribble down new ideas for stories, or create new characters.  But as far as productivity goes, the rainy day wins hands down every time.

So does your writing have a connection to the weather? 

***For those unfamiliar with the Alphasmart portable word processor, check them out online at:

http://www.alphasmart.com/Retail/

1 Comment »

  1. Wow. I was just about to write my blog entry, to sum up my recharged writing because the sun is out!!!! Finally, after days of drear, we have light and everything is blinking and winking in it.
    So, yes, weather affects my writing. It’s like the floodgates have opened and I am writing madly and having more and more ideas as I go…even though my back is to the sliding doors to our garden!

    Comment by oh — May 16, 2008 @ 2:08 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

