Dramaquill's All Things Writing

April 15, 2008

Can you have too many ideas?

I’m still working on my final (I can hope, can’t I?) revision of my adult suspense novel.  I feel that the writing is quite strong now and I’m confident that I’m continuing to eliminate the unnecessary bits. 

But revising can be tedious.  I’ve written and rewritten so much that I have to keep flipping back to make sure the new chapters are consistent with this version.  My critique group continues to be my most valuable resource as they catch anything that doesn’t click from what I’ve subbed to them, making my job a little bit easier than if I had to rely just on my own memory of this newest version.

So I decide to work on one of my other projects before I am smothered by my novel revision.  After all, sometimes all it takes is a break from the same characters to jump start a whole new take on my revision.

But, here’s the catch.  Are you like me?  I didn’t realize how many projects I’ve started, only to leave them to get back to the revision task.

Do I finish the last couple chapters of my Ya shapeshifter novel?  Or do I scrap it all in 3rd person because now, 1st person might be a better way to write it?

Do I tackle the themes list from a group of kids’ magazines where I’ve sold a few pieces and try to write and submit something new before they forget who I am?

Do I finish the 2nd half of that play I began writing three years ago?  I already know the answer to this one…nope!  It’s a pretty heavy subject and not something that would make a good diversion at this point.

How about the chicklit type YA novel that I actually think I could really get into?  It’s quirky and I can really relate to my main character. 

I could go on and list about ten other projects but I think you see where I’m going with this.  Just wading through everything I’ve got going tells me that I need to get back to the novel revision and stick it out and get it done.  I do have high hopes for this book and the only way it’s ever going to get out there is if I finish this revision.

So I ask all of you?  Can you have too many ideas?

Some people with for an extra day in the week.  I think I need an extra month in the year!  Of course wouldn’t that just give me another 30 days worth of ideas to generate?

Maybe blogging is the best diversion from this revision.  I think I’m ready to get back at it.  And hey, I’m on chapter 22 so I’ve made great progress.

Do you have too many ideas?

 

5 Comments »

  1. Yes, you can. I’m susceptible to the same sort of overstimulation. I want to do everything but I can’t. On the other hand, toggling between different projects helps me create a rhythm in my work. When I get bored of one project I focus on another. You talk about revision. I revise a lot, I mean a lot. What amazes me is the effect of putting something down and returning to it much later. With a little distance, I can see a lot. I like what I’ve read on your site. I put you on my blogroll; you’re free to do the same.

    Chris

    Comment by lethebashar — April 15, 2008 @ 10:05 PM | Reply

  2. I agree completely about the distancing yourself from what you’ve written comment. It’s amazing what you see a couple of months after when you go back and read what you thought was “brilliant” before LOL

    I’ve got you on my blogroll now, Chris.

    Jaclyn

    Comment by dramaquill — April 16, 2008 @ 10:49 AM | Reply

  3. Thanks Jaclyn

    Comment by lethebashar — April 16, 2008 @ 3:24 PM | Reply

  4. You know those giant post-its that you can adhese to your wall? They are poster size. They’re awesome. That’s where I keep a list of my works in progress – and there are several. OK, yes, there are more than a dozen. Oh, how I can relate to the “ideas” thing. I, too, have decided to focus. And that huge list on my office wall calms me down because I know everything that I have going on is listed there. I won’t forget. Step by step. Bird, as Lamott says, by bird.

    But it’s always so nice to hear other writers are in the same boat, on the same page!!!

    Comment by oh — April 16, 2008 @ 10:43 PM | Reply

  5. I love the idea of poster size post-its. Cool. I’ll have to look for those here. They’d come in handy for a bunch of stuff. Picture using one for each character when writing a book and you can add details as they come up and everything’s right there.

    Comment by dramaquill — April 17, 2008 @ 11:06 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

