Dramaquill's All Things Writing

January 29, 2008

Is blogging really writing?

Blogs have become the latest craze on the internet.  People in all walks of life can create their own space online and post anything they are thinking about or want to share.

Some people use blogs as a way of communicating with friends and family.  Others use blogs as a means of self expression.  Still others blog in order to make new friends, acquaintances and maybe even find a romance.

So is that writing? 

Well, I’m not going to answer that – I’ll leave it up to you.

Instead, what I’ll say is that the blog has become a useful tool for writers of all kinds, from those published and highly successful (J.K.Rowling has a blog, for example) to those looking to get attention and maybe even possible representation.

One of the writers in one of my critique groups got asked to send a partial to an agent because of her blog.  (So a word to the wise – remember that whatever you say in your blog, it can be read by anyone.)

A lot of reputable writers have blogs and post everything from their ezines to markets, jobs, contests, articles, links and the latest news from the writing world.  And some of these bloggers have a fantastic following.

So is blogging really writing?

I guess I will answer my own question after all.  Of course it is. 

Is it professional writing?

You be the judge!

3 Comments »

  1. Hi — To me it truly depends. If Edgar Allen Poe had internet access back in the day and he posted his material on a blog, do you think people wouldn’t consider that professional? Of course they would, or at least they SHOULD. Whether blogging is really considered WRITING largely depends on if the quality of the material produced can be held up to a certain standard. Is writing considered professional ONLY if it is found in a notable publication? Or are the qualifications to be considered professional writing merely based upon the content itself? Perhaps there is a fine line to draw here. I suppose most would say that professional writing is when someone is in the industry and business of writing. However, I think it is important to look to the material itself and make a judgment based on the quality rather than the degree of fame.

    Comment by simplicato — January 29, 2008 @ 2:17 PM | Reply

  2. Great comments and all completely valid. I agree that it’s the level of writing that gives the writer credibility and merit, not whether or not the writer is published.

    But what of those folks who use blogs as a rant for their personal feelings about life in general? It’s kind of like asking if someone’s journal is really considered writing.

    Reminds me of the whole philosophical “if a tree falls in the forest” discussion.

    Comment by dramaquill — January 30, 2008 @ 9:59 AM | Reply

  3. This is a great discussion. I am a technical writer for my company and have been trying to decide if I want to move my career in a different writing direction. I recently started a blog as a test to determine if I am really all that interested in writing. My job requires me to write and it is a skill I have learned, I am interested in whether it is my passion and that is what I am exploring. To answer your question, I don’t think writing a blog makes you a professional writer, but rather the thought you put into writing that blog can help make the determination. Even as I am typing, I go back and forth.

    Comment by cmgamble — January 30, 2009 @ 10:25 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

