Dramaquill's All Things Writing

November 7, 2007

I’m not making excuses but…

Okay, so it’s been 6 days of Nanowrimo and I’m supposed to have written approx. 6000 words by now.  I’ve done half of that.  So why did I sign up for this arduous task of creating an entire novel in a month if I wasn’t going to put nose to grindstone????

 Whatever you think of my explanation (or excuse), Nanowrimo has made me write more than I would have if I hadn’t joined. 

Today I worked for 3 hours on a totally new chapter of my adult suspense revision and guess what????  That was another couple thousand words, so really, I’m only 1000 words behind if you count what I’ve actually written.

But wait…

What about the zillion emails I’ve answered, the correspondence I’ve written for work and of course, my blog posts.  If you add it all up, then I’m right on schedule with my Nanowrimo word count.

Too bad the words are spread around and not all on my novel.

And yes…I’m still thinking of switching to the other book.

What would you do?????????????

2 Comments »

  1. Here’s what I try to do… I don’t always stick to this schedual, but of the scheduals I’ve tried, this is the easiest on for me. Here it goes:

    First off:

    I do not write in chapters.

    I do not write to a set “hours per day”

    I do not write to a set “words per day”

    What I do is, I write small segments or scenes from my book. Say a conversation between two characters. Or maybe the description of a room. Something like that. I find this easier, because I can see a very clear beginning, middle, and end. Not the beginning, middle, and end of the entire book. Not the beginning, middle and end of the entire chapter. Just the beginning, middle, and end of that one scene, which in most cases is 2 to 4 paragraphs long or about 600 – 800 words.

    I make it my goal to write three of these segmants each day. One in the morning as soon as I wake up, before I even get out of bed. One in the afternoon, when I get back in from taking my dog out for his daily walk. One in the evening, last thing just before going to bed. It takes about 15 – 30 minutes for me to write each segment. Or about 40 minutes to an hour and a half each day. In the end I end up with about 2,750 words written at the end of the day. That is, if I actualy sit down and write at all! I should be writing my NaNoNovel right now, cause I haven’t written anything yet today, but instead I find myself reading blogs from other NaNoers. LOL! Some days it’s just hard to get motivated to start writing.

    Anyways, When you take it and break it down into tiny chunks like this, it seems like you haven’t written very much at all, when in fact you have gone well above and beyound your word count goal. I hope this helps. Good luck with your story!

    ~~EK

    Comment by EelKat — November 8, 2007 @ 4:26 AM | Reply

  2. Good advice EK. And you’re right – breaking it down makes the task much less daunting.

    Good luck with our nano – how many words do you have?

    Comment by dramaquill — November 16, 2007 @ 5:07 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Talk to me - what do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

